Brand Site
Financial News

Announcing Landstar's Newest Million Mile Safe Drivers, Roadstars And The 2nd Truck Winner Of 2015
08:16 AM EDT

JACKSONVILLE, Fla., July 10, 2015 /PRNewswire/ -- Landstar System, Inc. (NASDAQ:LSTR), a worldwide, asset-light provider of integrated transportation management solutions delivering safe, specialized transportation services, paid tribute to the best and safest Landstar owner-operators during the 4th Annual Landstar BCO All-Star Celebration event held in their honor earlier this month. 

BCO is Landstar's term for the independent owner-operators who provide the company with transportation capacity under exclusive lease arrangements. The event featured an awards program during which Landstar inducted 10 Business Capacity Owners (BCOs) as Landstar Roadstars.  Landstar was also proud to honor 136 BCOs as new Million Mile Safe Drivers for driving one million consecutive miles without a preventable accident and 16 BCOs as new Two Million Mile Safe Drivers for driving two million consecutive miles without a preventable accident. To top off the celebration, Landstar presented its second Landstar Truck Giveaway of 2015. The truck, a 2016 Peterbilt 579, was in part sponsored by Comdata and was exclusively reserved for a Landstar Roadstar or Million Miler.

The select group of 2014 inductees were recognized during a three-day event held in Orlando, Florida, from July 1st through July 3rd for their outstanding safety records and professionalism behind the wheel. 

Collectively, the 136 active BCOs who make up the Million Miler Class of 2014 have safely driven 136 million miles – that's the distance from the earth's surface to the sun. On average it takes a truck operator 10 years to travel a million miles. The distance would take a typical driver about 67 years to complete. 

"Landstar is proud to showcase the class of Landstar Million Mile Safe Drivers as the industry's best. Their talent, hard work and dedication to safety is truly worthy of a celebration. These men and women make the roads safer for all of us; we are proud to honor them," said Landstar President and CEO Jim Gattoni

Of the 868 active Landstar Million Mile Safe Drivers, 10 earned the distinction of Roadstar during the celebration. Landstar Roadstars are chosen for their consistently high levels of safety, productivity and excellence in customer service.  Each was previously recognized as a Landstar Million Mile Safe Driver. The addition of the new Roadstars raises the total number of active Landstar Roadstars to 178. BCOs have received the Roadstar honor since Landstar began presenting the award in 1990. 

"Roadstars epitomize the driving profession. Their outstanding productivity and safety records raise the bar for the entire trucking industry. The 2014 class of Roadstars have earned the right to be called Landstar's best," said Gattoni. 

Landstar President and CEO Jim Gattoni also presented Landstar BCO Tommy Stiles with the BCO Lifetime Achievement Award. Stiles leased on to Landstar in 1982, was named a Roadstar in 2000 and became a 3 Million Miler in 2008. Stiles earned the NSC Joseph M. Kaplan Safe Driver of the Year Award in 2010 and the SC&RA Million Mile Safety award just last year. This past April, Stiles was presented with his 33-year Landstar Safe Driving award. 

"Tommy is an ambassador of safety. The BCO Lifetime Achievement Award is the perfect way to honor his years of service and safe driving. The award is a testament to the values that Tommy lives and works by," said Gattoni. 

The awards ceremony also showcased Landstar's All-Star Truck Giveaway, powered by Comdata. Each new Landstar Million Miler and each Landstar Roadstar automatically received one entry to win the truck. Those who attended the Landstar BCO All-Star Celebration received an additional entry as well. That evening new Million Mile Safe Driver Rich Snyder of New Bern, North Carolina, was the lucky winner to receive the truck keys and drive off with a brand new truck. 

The Class of 2014 Landstar Roadstars inducted this year:  
Roger Bell, Ellis Butler, Tony Ferrari, John Fuller, Lancer Hicks, Dave Long, Johnny Lowery, Vic Markle, Willie Mixon, Donald Wood

The Class of 2014 Landstar Million Mile Safe Drivers inducted this year:  
Two Million Mile Safe Drivers:    
George Castle, Bob Degler, Hank Faber, Randy Goller, Ralph Griffin, James Kepner, Raymond King Jr., Jack Miller, Anthony Nelson, Lee Pennington, Abram Peters, Ken Rasmussen, Dale Reuman, Craig Ringelstetter, Louis Toth and Sylvester Young.

One Million Mile Safe Drivers:   
Mayela Alcantar, Clyde Allen, John Allton, Jim Anderson, Henry Anderson, Kristin Ansley, Robert Arredondo, Brian Ashurst, Arturo Baltazar, David Barnett, Rodney Bassig, Jon Beeson, Hiurick Bocchini, Joe Bocek, Billy Boldin, Kenny Boos, Lee Bowman, Ed Boyer, Wilbert Briggs, Kyle Burgess, Roy Butler, Albert Calvert, Paul Christensen, Al Cito, John Cole, Norman Colson, David Coy, Jeff Custer, Ricardo Davila, Arthur Davis, Saul Dominguez, Darin Dreher, Edward Drew, Shawn Duke, Steven Dye, Mike Evich, John Federspiel, Luis Fierro, Gerald Fiset, Steven Fleming, Conrad Fox, John Gay, Donald Givans, Jose Gomez, Ron Gustin, Mitch Hardy, Mike Henderson, Rick Hill, Timothy Hinton, Mike Hvizdos, William Ingram, Cliff Jennings, Richard Johnson, Fred Keddy, Tonia Kennedy, Rick Kieser, Caroline Klenczon, Ben Kohler, David Korce, Gary Kozlowski, Terry Kristofik, Hoyt Langley, Dustin Lawson, Chris Lewis, Dave Long, Skip Lusk, Matthew Matala, Fred Mathes, Jim Mathews, Michael Mathews, Mike Medina, Thomas Miller, Willie Mixon, Dennis Mochol, Joe Montoya, Jose Morales, Pat Morello, David Morrison, Jay Nelson, Robert Obosla, Rafael Obregon, Marcos Ochoa, Bobby Owens, Mark Pardy, Gary Peterson, Juan Pizana, Steve Powell, Bill Price, Anthony Puckett, Lewie Pugh, Don Puskas, Jay Rabalais, Kuljit Rajania, Leslie Remo, Alex Reyes, Mario Reyes, J. W. "Dusty" Rhodes, Ken Richards, Larry Richmond, Ed Riddle, Warren Riley, Horencio Rivas, Ron Rowe, Rose Ruch, William Santerre, Linda Sheckels, Linda Short, Steven Shubosky, Mike Smith, Rich Snyder, Jason Spinler, Dietrich Staeckeler, Kandy Stein, Charles Storey, Ollie Thomas, Homero Toscano, Gene Tunney, Charles Turner, Richard Tyson, Dale Uhlman, Eleno Valdez, Noe Valle, John Vandenburg, Leonard Vaughn, Amy Jo Von Neida, Monroe Walker Jr., Larry Ward, Gary Ward, Jackie Watson, Patrick Webb, James Wiederholt, Charles Williams, Beverly Willson, Keith Wilson, James Yeakle, Keith Yerkey.

About Landstar: 
Landstar System, Inc. is a worldwide asset-light provider of integrated transportation management solutions delivering safe, specialized transportation services to a broad range of customers utilizing a network of agents, third-party capacity owners and employees. All Landstar transportation services companies are certified to ISO 9001:2008 quality management system standards and RC14001:2013 environmental, health, safety and security management system standards. Landstar System, Inc. is headquartered in Jacksonville, Florida. Its common stock trades on The NASDAQ Stock Market® under the symbol LSTR.

Landstar logo


Logo -


To view the original version on PR Newswire, visit:

SOURCE Landstar System, Inc.

Ginger Whitcher, Landstar System, Inc., (904) 390 -1457,